Sign In Forgot Password

The Jews of the Danube

Upcoming Sessions

1. Wednesday, December 12, 2018 • 4 Tevet 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

2. Wednesday, December 19, 2018 • 11 Tevet 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

3. Wednesday, December 26, 2018 • 18 Tevet 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

4. Wednesday, January 2, 2019 • 25 Tevet 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

5. Wednesday, January 9, 2019 • 3 Shevat 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

6. Wednesday, January 16, 2019 • 10 Shevat 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

7. Wednesday, January 23, 2019 • 17 Shevat 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

8. Wednesday, January 30, 2019 • 24 Shevat 5779

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Past Sessions
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 • 27 Kislev 5779 - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 • 20 Kislev 5779 - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

From its headwaters in Germany’s Black Forest to its final destination in the Black Sea, the Danube River flows through ten countries and over ten centuries of Jewish history.  Great cities like Vienna and Budapest punctuate its course through East-Central Europe, the cradle of much of Ashkenazic civilization. 

 

 

We will explore the history of the great Jews and Jewish communities of the region, celebrating the magnificent cultural achievements of Danubian Jewry, commemorating its tragic destruction in the twentieth century—and examining signs of incipient rebirth as the irrepressible, exuberant spirit of Jewish creativity expresses itself along the shoreline in the 21st century. 

 

This video lecture series features Professor Henry Abramson of Touro College in Brooklyn NY.  For more info contact Nancy by phone (248) 737-1931 or e-mail nancyellen879@att.net  Free and open to the community.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Tue, December 11 2018 3 Tevet 5779